Return Policy

20150421_172720

Long time no see. It’s been an embarrassing amount of time since I’ve last posted here. (No seriously, embarrassing, as in, I look at what I was writing two years ago and feel embarrassed). So much has changed in the past two years. I finished my Masters in Creative Writing at The New School and now work as a Program Manager for English Language Studies at The New School, where we offer certificatesย in English as a Second Language (ESL) as well as a certificate and master’s degree in Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages (TESOL). It’s been a crazy year, but I’m extremely fortunate to be where I’m at. I work with some amazing people, people who are all so dedicated to our student body.

A few weeks ago, one of our ESL faculty members asked me what my dream is. I wasn’t sure how to answer. I know I want to write and that I want to write a variety of different things, essays, short stories, novels, science fiction, fantasy, screenplays. But that seems so hard to define as a dream. I told her this and she said, “So you want to be a published writer.” But that wasn’t quite it either. Sure, that’d be fantastic. But my dream is a bit broader, a bit fuzzy even. I want to always be working on something creative. So long as I’m doing that, I think I can be happy. She said, “That’s a very relaxed why of looking at it.” I wondered if she thought I just wasn’t driven or focused enough.

A few days after that, another faculty member asked me what my degree was in. I told her I received my master’s in Creative Writing. She asked what I’d published or if I was sending out anything. I’m not. I haven’t been for a long time. Sharing my work is always the hardest part. I told her what a weenie I was when it comes to sending my work. She asked if I blogged. “I used to, but I haven’t in a long time. I can never really pinpoint what it is I want to share on my blog. I have too many interests.” She told me about a friend who blogs about anything and everything, who gives her opinion on a great number of subjects. “I don’t always agree with her, but you know what I like about her? She writes without fear.”

So here I am. The policy of my return is that I return without fear or shame and with a new sense of focus and determination. I return like the Spring has returned, with a clichรฉ sense of new life.

Leave a Reply

